Home » Uncategorized » Is social media making the mommy wars worse?

Is social media making the mommy wars worse?

When I had my son 4 years ago, I didn’t feel all the pressure to read 40 books, potty train at birth, cloth diaper, or breastfeed till they were seven. My MIL had given me the baby wise books which were short and concise (about all I had time for at that point) which I read and followed loosely. But mainly I did what felt right and didn’t really worry about it. (I’m not saying that I didn’t have any mommy guilt or worries, but it didn’t stem from other people). Now, as hubby and I are thinking about having a third, the pressure about what to do for our baby (from other mommies, who I know are just “trying to help”) is crazy! Between the latest trendiest cloth diapers (“oh my goodness Rachael, have you heard what’s in a disposable diaper and what it’s doing to the environment?”) to how not cosleeping is the reason my daughter is so clingy and how both my children will be scarred for life because of it, it’s just overwhelming! It got me to thinking, have I changed that much since I had my son (sure we moved from the South, to Colorado, to the Northeast, and I went from having a full time job and no time to worry about what other moms thought of my parenting, to a stay at home mom who’s main focus is my kiddos) or did the world around me change? I think that while I have changed and may have more time to focus on worrying about what options are out there for my kids, the main difference is that now social media (Facebook, twitter, blogs, etc) give us instant access to the opinions and daily happenings of just about every other type of mom on the planet! At a thumbs swipe, we can compare and be compared to tons of moms and this is making the mommy wars 10X worse! Just my opinion…

One thought on “Is social media making the mommy wars worse?

  1. Yes! It is 10X worse!!! Whether it’s breastfeeding or private schooling or home schooling or public schooling or spanking or not…. Ugh! I HATE it! Let’s just support each other’s choices for crying out loud!

    Okay. My rant over. 😉

Leave a Reply

